Chiasmus, Come unto Him

Alma 36 – Come unto Him

I will often times reference Alma 36 due to the chiastic writing structure that is in this Chapter. The focal point, place where the author is making their main point, is in verses 17 and 18. See item P in the chiastic structure image below. The central focus is to turn to Christ. This is central to the Plan of our Heavenly Father. We need this personal relationship with our Savior. We need to come unto Him with full purpose of heart in humility and meekness. He is the way, there is no other by which we are saved.

 17 And it came to pass that as I was thus racked with torment, while I was harrowed up by the memory of my many sins, behold, I remembered also to have heard my father prophesy unto the people concerning the coming of one Jesus Christ, a Son of God, to atone for the sins of the world.

 18 Now, as my mind caught hold upon this thought, I cried within my heart: O Jesus, thou Son of God, have mercy on me, who am in the gall of bitterness, and am encircled about by the everlasting chains of death.

 19 And now, behold, when I thought this, I could remember my pains no more; yea, I was harrowed up by the memory of my sins no more.

Blue: Key words (tags)
Green: Blessings
Orange: What we must do

Screen Shot 2016-03-18 at 4.56.54 PM

Additional Study on Alma 36

Learning more on Chiasmus

Standard

Leave a Reply

